top of page
Writer's pictureuonscc

Race Report: Loughborough University Campus Crit

Read here about Track Queen Tilly's bank holiday crit race and plans for the rest of the season.


Off the back of BUCS RR and TTs I’ve been struggling with fatigue, but having started my track programme last week (yay) there was no pressure coming into todays crit, it was simply a way of seeing if the strength work was paying off. As someone who usually gets really nervous before a race, this was a change of attitude, and it seemed to pay off! I made sure I was on the front line at the start, and got myself off really well, going hard into the first corner and into the little climb to the top of the course. A rider decided to attack from the start, so the first few laps were frantic chasing. I lost contact with the front riders on the twisty descent, slight error of judgement having a deep rim on the front, with a stiff crosswind! Throughout the race I kept a consistent pace, getting more and more confident on the descent, and started picking off the riders who had maybe gone out a little too hard and were now suffering. I finished in around 12th place (awaiting full results), and was really happy with where my legs are after a few intense months of rushed road training.


That marks the end of my road season, and means that I’m now looking forward to a full grass track season, featuring my 4th attempt at two national titles, fingers crossed I can make the step up from years of silver medals!




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page