top of page
Writer's pictureuonscc

UoNCC Talks Racing

We have talked to a few members of our performance squad about their experiences getting into racing.


What was your first race like? E - "Depends what you count as my first race. My first ever bike race was BUCS hill climb. I had

flat pedals trainers and got grumpy when one of the guys told me I should take my bell off. I also got overtaken by my 2 minute man. However my 2 minute man was world champion Hayley Simmonds racing for Cambridge so I let her off.


My first bunch bike race was MK Spring Bowl series in a women’s E/1/2/3/4 field. I was excited and feeling good until a woman in the carpark turned her nose up at me and my friend for choosing to race as 4th cats in a E/1/2/3/4 race. I was put off but keen to try and prove her wrong. She was right in the fact that I got dropped immediately and actually ended up being lapped twice. However she was wrong to judge me and presume that I was racing for a win. I loved every second of that race despite spending most of it TTing alone. A crash in the bunch result in a friend of mine from a local club being dropped from the bunch. Despite being much stronger than me she came back to where I was and let me hold her wheel for the rest of the race. I got home and immediately entered a E/1/2/3/4 road race, another chance to get dropped this time in the neutralised start section."


S - It was an East Mids midweek 3/4 race last year. Hucks had persuaded me to enter a road race after being injured from Triathlon for the last 4 months. I was quite nervous and had no idea what to expect but it turned out to be one of the most enjoyable hours of my life! I ended up coming 2nd and I would highly recommend the midweek crits that East Mids has to offer for anyone new to racing.


L - Frankly I was absolutely gutted after my first ever race. I went into it feeling really fit and strong after a fab winter's training. It was a technical course with tight corners and I got dropped early on and ended up about 20th/25. But, I took a lot from it and after a few skills sessions at Harvey Hadden practicing corners, the top 10s started coming.




3 Top Tips for your First Race

E - "1.Take some friends. Whether they are racing too or simply cheering from the side lines having some support can make a huge difference. Also can stop you chickening out if you’ve dragged come support along

2. Have a plan. This includes looking at the course, knowing how long the race is and how many laps. Checking out the corners and hills, even doing a recce drive round can help. Knowing this can help you relax and focus on keeping the pedals turning rather than turning into a rabbit in headlights at every hurdle.

3. Smile and enjoy! It’s your first race so there’s no pressure. Soak in the atmosphere, chat to people that seem enthusiastic and friendly. If you let people know it’s your first race you may even be able to get a few of their top tips and a little bit of support from other riders."


S - "1. Relax, you will probably be very tensed up in the middle of the bunch but if you relax your grip on your bars you will instantly feel far more comfortable and therefore, confident.

2. Don't take it too seriously. It isn't the Tour de France so try different things, experiment and have fun with it. Most people will be very welcoming and happy to give advice.

3. '' HOLD YOUR LINE!!! '' - the most shouted phrase in any 3/4 race. Basically, be aware of other riders, don't cut people up and when cornering in a bunch keep a consistent track throughout rather than going for the apex."


L - "1. Don't go in with high expectations. It's your first race, don't put any pressure on yourslef and just go in with an open mind to see what it's like.

2. Don't be intimidated by big teams. They may have all the kit and have been riding for years but likelihood is they're a similar level to you.

3. Follow a wheel you're comfortable on. It may be a teammate or someone you know well and have ridden with a lot, but if not have a look at people warming up and choose one who's riding good lines in the corners and looks smooth on their bike."


Which Race Should I Enter as My First One?

E - Honestly, anything you want! As long as your race license allows then why not give it a go? If you’re nervous about groups then maybe try a TT or hill climb first. If you are a member of a cycling club then a local event can be fun as you may find riders from your club will be eager to chat and support fellow members. Remember everyone started somewhere and everyone remembers deep down how it felt to be a beginner so you’re not alone. Additionally, GoRaces are catching on in some parts of the country. This is a cheap race before the rest of the racing starts. Placing doesn’t matter and there are no points up for grabs but it’s a great friendly way to try out the racing atmosphere without any of the pressure. In most cases after doing a GoRace you may feel confident enough to hop in the give the 4th cat race a go.


S - East Mids have midweek crits perfect for anyone's first race. Many at held at Harvey Hadden just a few miles from the Uni.


L - My first race was an E1234 race so I was very much thrown in at the deep end. The next few races I did were 2/3/4s and 3/4s which were much better - slightly easier pace and not too mad round the corners. There are more and more lower category womens races now, just go on the Brtish Cycling event search and take your pick

(for an explanation of the categories go to https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/road/article/roadst_Road-Categories_Classifications)


What kit is essential?

E - Can I say I gadget? My wahoo elemnt bolt has transformed my cycling. The maps and navigation and saved many a lost detour meaning I can be home for dinner. The lights are fun and a good way of watching which HR zone you are in with little effort. Also being able to have workouts upload straight from training peaks means those tough interval sessions are just a little easier.


S - Bike and helmet.


L - Just what you would normally take on club rides. Always good to wear team/club/bright kit so people can pick you out. Turbo/rollers is also useful for warming up.


What do you prefer out of road race, crit and time trial?

E - Hill Climb for sure! I love the atmosphere and love the individual achievement from beating your own PBs. Also it's one of the few times you get to cheer your own team mates ttoo


S - Kermesse


L - When I'm fit I absolutely love TTTs and hilly road races. When I'm unfit I prefer crits as I can usually just about hang in there and do ok in the sprint. CX and hill climbs are also always a laugh!





25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page